Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeAccess To InformationWest Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards – Call for Entries

West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards – Call for Entries

Are you a journalist in West Africa who has produced compelling work(s) that has had significant impact on society? If yes, the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) invites you to submit your work(s) for consideration for the first ever West Africa Media Excellence Awards.

This is an initiative to reward and inspire media excellence in West Africa. The maiden edition of the Awards is scheduled for October 28, 2017 in Accra, Ghana.

The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries in West Africa. Applicants must be West African, working with and for media organisation(s) based in West Africa. An Entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between the period, January 1 to December 31, 2016.

Deadline for submission of entries:       September 17, 2017 at 17.00 GMT.

Judging period:                                           October 2 to 4, 2017

Announcement of nominees/finalists:   October 10, 2017.

Applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website: www.mfwa.org/wameca . The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published.

The categories open for entries are:

  • Investigative Reporting
  • SDG’s Reporting
  • Business Reporting
  • ICT Reporting
  • Human Rights Reporting
  • Photojournalism
  • ECOWAS and Regional integration
  • Sports Reporting
  • Health reporting
  • Anti-corruption Reporting
  • Environmental Reporting
  • Women’s Rights Reporting
  • Children’s Rights Reporting
  • Oil and Gas Reporting

From the entries submitted, the judges will also select the overall best report for the prestigious West African Journalist of the Year Award.

Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories and for each category a maximum of two entries.

Finalists will be hosted at the Awards event on the 28th of October, 2017 and also participate in the West Africa Media Excellence Conference on the 27th of October, 2017 which will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking with other journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.

For further clarifications, please write to info[@]mfwa.org or Abigail Larbi (abigail[@]mfwa.org) or call the MFWA on +233 302 242470.

Recent articles